What a little love can do…

What a difference a week makes and what a great job everyone is doing at Bichon and Little Buddies Rescue! When I went in to volunteer today, the puppy mill pups I mentioned a couple of posts back were in the main room with all of the other dogs. They were bathed, groomed and looking absolutely adorable.

I started by cleaning out their run. As I approached the gate and knelt down, the two Bichon Frises stuck their noses through and covered my fingers with kisses. Even the Yorkshire Terrier tried to get in on the action. I opened the gate and stepped inside. The Yorkie moved away from me, but was sniffing curiously and inching closer, his tail wagging. Both of the Bichons were wagging their tails furiously and greeting me with quick licks and sniffs. All three were friendly and excited to have a visitor. As I pulled up their soiled papers and collected their beds and toys for cleaning, they continued to follow me, moving in a funny little dance of playful curiosity. When I mopped the floor, all three sat patiently on a raised dog bed and waited for me to finish. I placed new beds and blankets in the run and brought them some clean toys. I tossed them into the run and the dogs excitedly scrambled after them. Toys – a new luxury for them – and they were enjoying them to the fullest.

It was so fun to see these puppy mill pups coming out of their shells and displaying the beginnings of their social little selves. Very soon, these cute little guys will make someone very happy.

I’ll post some pictures of them soon so you can see how adorable they are!

2 responses to “What a little love can do…

  1. TC the Bichon, has the cutest smile. He hangs back, smiles a bit, and then comes in for a lick. RB the other Bichon is so cute and wiggly. They are both learning to be real puppies rather than objects to be sold. Badger was playing tug just a bit with me last night. They are making big steps forward.